Second Time Around

Daily Prompt: Second Time Around

Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored — what is it that speaks to you?


I have only re-read two books ever.  Neither were great works of literature (in that they aren’t taught in schools…), but very popular books and read by bazillions of people world wide.  In the case of the first, maybe by people in another planes of existence too.  Dark Tower readers know what I’m talking about, right? 😉

The first is The Stand by Stephen King. It is a story of Good vs. Evil, of post apocalyptic USA, of love and loss, of God, of madness, of the belief that life is preordained, and that Good Will Out.  God does feature in the book, and the TV mini-series, but it’s OK if you don’t believe in God; because He believes in YOU.  That’s a quote.  I haven’t turned my blog religious, don’t fret.

Stephen King is the master at writing characters.  He has the power to make you forget everything.  Even his evil characters are pretty good, and there are some nasty devil’s in this book.  Randall Flagg, aka The Walking Dude, is the most heinous of The Dark’s servants, and he’s a bad ‘un to be sure.  I just love how he recurs in SK’s novels.  Just love it.

What is not to love about a story with all these ingredients?  I’m a sucker for a happy ending, and this has a sort of happy ending, depending on your view. Well, I wasn’t too keen on the Las Vegas part of the ending.  But hey, that’s just my opinion.

I hadn’t realised how much I enjoyed this book until I started writing about it here.  Another read is in order, I think.

The second book is Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien.  Any Lord of the Rings (LOTR) reader has surely read this more than once? Anyone who loved it surely would have.  I think what brought me back for more was simply wanting to be back in that world again. A world of simplicity in many ways.  JRRT certainly didn’t write about Frodo struggling to pay bills, or Galadriel having husband troubles.

Total and complete escapism, that’s why I love this book.  I have read other fantasy novels, but his was my first, and they do say that you never forget your first!  No other fantasy genre novel holds a candle to Lord of the Rings, except maybe Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time books.  No, LOTR is the best. So there.




Copyright 2016. Reaching for Happiness Blog.  All rights reserved

 

One thought on “Second Time Around

Leave a Reply

